Parishes

  • image

Tuet - St. Sebastian’s Church

  • Forane : Tuet
  • Parish Priest : 16
  • Assistant Priest : 41
  • Assistant Priest : 62
  • Address : St. Sebastian’s Church Tuet Kollam 691 001
  • Phone No. : 0474-2729973
  • E-mail :
  • Website :
Liturgical Timing

The origin of this parish is linked toThareesapally.  The church built in Thevally in 825 can be considered the first church of Tuet.  In 849 the king of Quilon ‘Ayyandikal’ granted special privileges to the Christians of Thereesapally.  The church of St. Sebastian was built in the present site in 1745.  In 1808 Thereesapalli was destroyed during the persecution of Christians.  In 1845 when Quilon Vicariate was erected St. Sebastians Church became the cathedral and the Bishop’s stayed at Tuet till 1905.  Bishop Benziger shifted his residence to Olikara in TangasseriRt. Rev. Ildephonse Borgna OCD who died in 1894 was buried in Tuet Church.  From 1882 to 1905 St. Teresa Seminary also functioned at Tuet.  The bell tower of the church, unique in architectural elegance was built in 1891.  The church was extended in 1911 and was rebuilt in the present form in 1991.  The shrine of Our Lady of Velankanni attached to this parish was built in 1986 in the heart of the town.  It was become a pilgrim centre attracting thousands of devotees.